My experience

I love the support role! I love helping others realize their dreams. In the past I have been a nursing assistant, a licensed hearing aid dealer, and an administrative assistant. I love to serve others and make their lives better. Being a virtual assistant (VA) brings joy to  my life by providing a way for me to support myself financially by supporting others.

This type of business has been a dream of mine for over five years, since I was let go during budgetary cuts by an employer. After giving more than a dozen years to a company only to be let go, I did not want to rely on a corporation again for a job. I wanted to help myself by helping others. I spent some time researching how I could use the skills I had to start my own business and found virtual assistance. I began working toward the goal of starting my own virtual assistance (VA) business but put the dream aside when my husband passed away from cancer. I took a job as an administrative assistant for a real estate company for a few years, but now it is definitely time to restart the dream.

I have been using computers for about thirty years; in the business arena for over twenty. I worked first as a medical receptionist, and then as an administrative assistant for almost twenty years. I have experience with many software programs including the Microsoft Office Suite, various proprietary database programs, the DOS and Windows operating systems, and various E-mail programs and web browsers. I have been on-line in one form or another since the early to mid 1990s. I have training and experience in basic accounting, medical terminology, and ICD-9 and CPT coding. I also have some knowledge of HTML and CSS.

I have a professional support background in the medical field and in real estate. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Family Studies, and I had the certification for Oregon Assisted Living and Residential Care Facilities Administrators. As I no longer work in that field, I have allowed that to lapse. I have recently finished a training program specifically for virtual assistants from Assist University.

On the personal side

I have a life-long love affair with horses, having purchased my first horse when I was 12 years old. I have owned several horses over the years and mostly rode “western”. My current horse is a registered “straight Egyptian” Arabian. In the past I have enjoyed working cattle, team roping, trail riding, riding with drill teams, and gymkhana (speed games). A few years ago, I decided to try something new so I began taking dressage (rhymes with massage) lessons. It is totally different than any type of riding I have done before! I am enjoying it immensely, but must confess that the horse is learning more quickly than I am. ;)

I have four adult children and six grandchildren who are the light of my life. I also have a “rescue” fur-kid who is probably a Golden Retriever and Husky mix.


See my Services Page for how I can support you.

Learn more about virtual assistance on my What is Virtual Assistance page.